Skip to content
Madagaskar

Reforestation in North-East Madagascar

 

The forests of Madagascar are severely threatened and their area is continuously decreasing. Rosewood and ebony trees which are used in the musical instruments industry grow in the rainforests of Madagascar.

 

Starting 2014 Eben!Holz e.V. supports an extensive reforestation project in the Anajanaharibe wild forest corridor from the Maintimbato region in the Makira Natural Park.

 

Makira Natural Park

The Makira Natural Park, situated in the Northeastern part of Madagascar, with a surface area of 372,47 ha is the biggest woodland of the island. With its extraordinary biodiversity and its location connecting several national parks, this area plays a crucial role in the ecological development of the region. The Natural Park is close to the Northern Marojejy National Park and to the East it boarders the Masoala National Park, which became in 2007 a UNESCO- World Heritage Site.

As of 2012 the Makira Natural Park is subject to special protection from the UN-REDD+ Programs. The amounts of stored carbon dioxide in this area can be sold as CO2 certificates. The resulting income contributes to financing the administration and the protection of the region.

The management and execution of the projects is the responsibility of the WCS-Madagascar Organization in cooperation with the Malagasy authorities and the affected communities. The WCS, our local partner, is a non-profit organization that was founded in 1895 and has been active in Madagascar since the 1990s.

Protected Areas

Protecting the Makira Natual Park preserves the diversity of species and the unique rainforest habitat. To ensure the best protection for the forest, it is essential to take into account local settlements and the specific needs of the local population that existed prior to when the area was deemed Natural Park. In order to comply with the specific protection requirements the National Park has been divided into protection areas:

Protected area I – Core Area
Strictly protected uninhabited area where all economic use is strictly prohibited (wood must, under no circumstance, be removed). (dark green)

Protected area II – Controlled Habitation Area
An area in which minimal exploitation is allowed. For example, the inhabitants of the already existing settlements are allowed to use the forest’s resources for ensuring their basic needs. New population influx to these settlements is strictly prohibited. (purple)

Protected area III – Controlled Use Area
An area where, under specific conditions, the basic needs of the local population can be ensured, and where there are fewer restrictions on use. (light green)

Buffer zone
The so-called “green belt” surrounds the core area with a network of associations of local authorities (COBAs).
Each local authority association (COBA) manages and cultivates the respective associated area jointly. Sustainable exploitation of the forest is allowed to the COBAs. These transition areas should, on the one hand, ensure the needs of the local population and its dependency form the use of the forest, and, on the other hand, to provide absolute strict protection of the core area by facilitating controlled use within this “green belt”. (white)

What threatens the Makira Natural Park?

There are several threats to the Makira Natural Park:

  • Fire clearance agriculture (and the long-term degradation and erosion of the fertile soils),
  • Illegal logging, especially of precious woods such as ebony (Diospyros spp.), rosewood and palisander wood (Dalbergia spp.),
  • Exploitation for firewood,
  • Unsustainable hunting of wildlife (especially endemic species, e.g. lemurs).

Counteractive measures for the threats

Raising the awareness of local population regarding forest protection is essential. Forest protection measures are possible among and for the locals only when alternatives to the harmful economic practices are available.

Training programs in sustainable agricultural practices outside the core area should ensure:

  • the preservation of soil fertility and long-term use of agricultural land,
  • an increase of the income,
  • new additional sources of income through, among others, permaculture cultivation of cocoa, vanilla, and cloves,
  • a careful and sustainable use of the resources.
 
 

The rainforest ensures clean drinking water and sets the foundation for a healthy and secure life. The preservation and the restoration of the forest are indispensable for the maintenance and functioning of the entire ecosystem.

Using satellite photography and on-site surveys, WCS identified within the core area several regions where the forest stand is destroyed is fragmented. These areas need to be restored to their original state. Eben!Holz is co-financing the reforestation of portions of the Anjanaharibe forest corridor in the eastern side of the Makira Natural Park, which is implemented by the WCS-Madagascar Organization in close collaboration with the Zürich Zoo and its curator Martin Bauert.

 

The initial goal, restoring approximately 100ha of rainforest, was expanded to 217ha in 2017 by supplementary contracts. By 2030 the goal is to restore the tree stand to such an extent that the rainforest can regenerate on its own.

In addition, Eben!Holz e.V. is funding an empirical study at the Unievrsity of Antananarivo on planting of ebony and rosewood species in combination with crops of cocoa. The results show that the integration of rosewood species of trees and of ebony trees in agroforestry systems contributes to improving the soil’s fertility. These results suggest that such plantations are useful regardless of the potential future use of the wood.


Vom Samen zum Wald – Details zu den Wiederaufforstungsarbeiten

Klicken Sie hier, um mehr zu erfahren.

#!trpst#trp-gettext data-trpgettextoriginal=618#!trpen#WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner#!trpst#/trp-gettext#!trpen#

Madagaskar

Wiederaufforstung im Nordosten Madagaskars

 

Madagaskars Wälder sind stark bedroht, ihre Fläche nimmt kontinuierlich ab. In Madagaskars Regenwäldern wachsen im Musikinstrumentenbau verwendete Palisanderbaumarten und Ebenhölzer.

 

Seit 2014 unterstützt der Eben!Holz e.V. ein umfassendes Wiederaufforstungsprojekt im Anjanaharibe-Waldkorridor in der Region Maintimbato im Makira-Naturpark.

 

Makira-Naturpark

Der Makira-Naturpark im Nord-Osten Madagaskars ist mit einer Fläche von 372.470ha das größte zusammenhängende Waldgebiet der Insel. Mit seiner außergewöhnlichen Artenvielfalt und seiner verbindenden Lage zwischen zwei Nationalparks kommt diesem Gebiet eine bedeutende Rolle für die ökologische Entwicklung der Region zu. Der Naturpark liegt unweit des nördlichen Marojejy-Nationalparks. Im Osten grenzt er an den Masoala-Nationalpark, der seit 2007 zum UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe zählt.

Seit 2012 unterliegt der Makira-Naturpark einem besonderen Schutz im Rahmen des UN-REDD+ Programmes. In diesem Gebiet gespeicherte Kohlendioxid-Mengen dürfen als CO2-Zertifikate verkauft werden. Die daraus resultierenden Einnahmen tragen dazu bei, Verwaltung und Schutz der Region zu finanzieren.

Die Verwaltung des Naturparks und die Ausführung von (Schutz-)Projekten obliegt der Organisation WCS-Madagascar in Zusammenarbeit mit den madegassischen Behörden und den betroffenen Gemeinden. Die 1895 gegründete gemeinnützige Organisation WCS ist schon seit den 1990er Jahren in Madagaskar aktiv und unser Partner vor Ort.

Schutzzonen

Durch den Schutz des Makira-Naturparks soll der artenreiche und einzigartige Regenwald erhalten bleiben. Um den besten Schutz des Waldes zu ermöglichen ist es unerlässlich die bei Ernennung des Parks vorhandenen Siedlungen und Bedürfnisse der lokalen Bevölkerung zu berücksichtigen. Aus diesem Grund ist das Gebiet des Makira-Naturparks in unterschiedlich strenge Schutzzonen unterteilt:

Schutzzone I – Kernzone
Streng geschütztes unbewohntes Gebiet, in dem keine wirtschaftliche Nutzung erlaubt ist (Holz darf unter keinen Umständen entnommen werden). (dunkelgrün)

Schutzzone II – Controlled Habitation Zone
Ein Gebiet, in dem eine Minimalnutzung erlaubt ist. D.h. die Menschen, die bereits dort leben, haben das Recht zur Nutzung des Waldes, um ihre Grundbedürfnisse zu befriedigen. Ein weiterer Zuzug in diese Siedlungen ist untersagt. (lila)

Schutzzone III – Controlled Use Zone
Eine Zone, in der unter bestimmten Bedingungen auch über die Grundbedürfnisse der lokalen Bevölkerung hinaus gewirtschaftet werden darf und es geringere Nutzungseischränkungen gibt. (hellgrün)

Pufferzone
Der sogenannte „grüne Gürtel“ umgibt die Kernzone  mit einem Netzwerk von Gemeindeverbänden (COBAs).
Jeder Gemeindeverband verwaltet und bewirtschaftet die jeweils zugehörige Fläche gemeinschaftlich. Eine kontrollierte nachhaltige Nutzung des Waldes ist in diesen COBAs möglich. Diese „Übergangszone“ soll einerseits die Bedürfnisse der lokalen Bevölkerung und ihre Abhängigkeit von der Nutzung des Waldes berücksichtigen und das Zugeständnis einer kontrollierten Nutzung in diesem „grünen Gürtel“ einen absolut strikten Schutz der Kernzone andererseits ermöglichen. (weiß)

Was bedroht den Makira-Naturpark?

Der Makira-Naturpark wird bedroht durch

  • Brandrodungen zur Gewinnung von Landwirtschaftsflächen (und die auf lange Sicht damit verbundene Verschlechterung und Erosion der fruchtbaren Böden),
  • illegalen Holzeinschlag, insbesondere von Edelhölzern wie Ebenholz (Diospyros spp.), Rosenholz und Palisander (Dalbergia spp.),
  • Brennholzeinschlag,
  • nicht nachhaltige Jagd auf Wildtiere (insbesondere auf endemische Arten, z.B. Lemuren).

Den Bedrohungen entgegenwirken

Eine Sensibilisierung der Bevölkerung für den Waldschutz ist unverzichtbar. Waldschutz ist für die ortsansässigen Menschen erst dann möglich, wenn es Alternativen zu schädlichen Praktiken des Wirtschaftens für sie gibt.

Außerhalb der Kernzone soll/sollen deshalb durch Weiterbildung zu nachhaltigen Landwirtschaftspraktiken

  • der Erhalt der Bodenfruchtbarkeit und langfristige Nutzung der landwirtschaftlichen Flächen gesichert werden,
  • die Erträge gesteigert werden,
  • neue zusätzliche Erwerbsquellen erschlossen werden (unter Anderem Anbau von Kakao, Vanille, Nelken in Permakultur),
  • eine schonende nachhaltige Nutzung der Ressourcen geschehen.
 
 

Der Regenwald ist Garant für sauberes Trinkwasser und Grundlage für ein gesundes und gesichertes Leben. Der Erhalt des Waldes und seine Wiederherstellung sind unverzichtbar für den Erhalt und das Funktionieren des gesamten Ökosystems.

Innerhalb der Kernzone hat WCS mithilfe von Satellitenfotos und durch Untersuchungen vor Ort mehrere Regionen ausgemacht, in denen der Waldbestand zerstört oder fragmentiert ist. Diese Flächen sollen wieder in ihren ursprünglichen Zustandversetzt werden. Eben!Holz co-finanziert die Wiederaufforstung von Teilen des Waldkorridors von Anjanaharibe im Osten des Makira-Naturparks, die von WCS-Madagascar in enger Abstimmung mit dem Zoo Zürich und dessen Kurator Martin Bauert ausgeführt wird.

 

Das ursprüngliche Ziel, ca. 100ha Regenwaldfläche wiederherzustellen, wurde 2017 durch einen Ergänzungsvertrag auf 217ha erweitert. Bis 2030 soll der Baumbestand so weit wiederhergestellt sein, dass der Regenwald sich alleine regenerieren kann.

Darüber hinaus finanziert Eben!Holz e.V. eine empirische Studie an der Universität Antananarivo zur Anpflanzung von Ebenhölzern und Palisanderarten in Verbindung mit der Kulturpflanze Kakao. Die bisherigen Ergebnisse zeigen, dass die Integration inbesondere von Palisanderbaumarten, aber auch von Ebenhölzern in Agroforstsystemen zu einer verbesserten Bodenfruchtbarkeit beitragen. Das legt nahe, dass ihre Anpflanzung auch unabhängig von einer potenziellen zukünftigen Nutzung des Holzes sinnvoll ist.


Vom Samen zum Wald – Details zu den Wiederaufforstungsarbeiten

Klicken Sie hier, um mehr zu erfahren.