Wald

Protection for the Romanian primeval forests

The Carpathians, a mountain range stretching over 1500 km in Central and Eastern Europe, are home to some of the last primeval forest areas in Europe. Most of them are located in Romania, primarily high-altitude mixed forests where the sycamore maple, indispensable for instrument making, grows. They make up two-thirds of Europe's primeval and natural forests, (Scandinavia left aside). For comparison, the share of the Alps in the European primeval forest heritage is only 0.4 percent. Although they are protected as national and nature parks, EU Natura 2000 sites and UNESCO World Heritage sites, these precious forests are constantly being decimated by legal and illegal logging.

In a corrupt system state officials and entrepeneurs massivly destroy forests. The state forestry company Romsilva is responsible for compliance with the regulations in existing protected zones and for the protection of further forest areas (contrary to international standards, the protection status is not recognised for all forest areas worthy of protection). However, Romsilva is significantly involved in large-scale deforestation. In the process, national Romanian law, EU legislation and international laws are systematically violated.
For example, Romsilva continued logging even though the Supreme Court in Bucharest had suspended logging permits in early 2020.

The Romanian environmental organisation Agent Green and the nature conservation foundation EuroNatur are fighting together against this destructive practice. EuroNatur intends "together with other organisations and committed people [...] to draw attention to the danger to this unique natural heritage and to enforce better protection regulations". In this mission Eben!Holz e.V. joins their project „Save Paradise Forests“ . At the moment, the aim is to provide financial support for the preparation and implementation of legal proceedings at national and European level. The aim is to achieve comprehensive protection, which has so far been denied, and to prove that unlawful concessions for use have been granted. This should stop large-scale deforestation and clear-cutting.

One of the latest successes is that the European Commission has launched an infringement procedure against the Romanian state after EuroNatur, Client Earth and Agent Green filed complaints about the systematic destruction of forests and illegal logging in Romania's Natura 2000 sites.

Wald

Schutz für die rumänischen Urwälder

Die Karpaten, eine Bergkette, die sich in Zentral- und Osteuropa über 1500 km erstreckt, beherbergen einige der letzten ursprünglichen Waldgebiete Europas. Der größte Teil davon liegt in Rumänien, überwiegend hochgelegene Mischwälder, in denen der im Instrumentenbau unverzichtbare Bergahorn wächst. Hierbei handelt es sich um zwei Drittel der Ur- und Naturwälder Europas, wenn man Skandinavien unberücksichtigt lässt. (Zum Vergleich: Der Anteil der Alpen am europäischen Urwalderbe beträgt nur 0,4 Prozent.) Obwohl sie als National- und Naturparks, EU Natura 2000-Gebiete und UNESCO-Welterbe unter Schutz gestellt sind, werden diese kostbaren Wälder durch legalen und illegalen Holzeinschlag stetig dezimiert.

In einem korrupten System wird diese massive Zerstörung rücksichtslos vorangetrieben. Das staatliche Forstunternehmen Romsilva verwaltet die Wälder. Es ist für die Einhaltung der Bestimmungen in bestehenden Schutzzonen und die Unterschutzstellung weiterer Waldgebiete zuständig (Der Schutzstatus ist, entgegen weltweiten Standards, noch nicht für alle schützenswerten Waldgebiete anerkannt). Romsilva ist maßgeblich an den großflächigen Abholzungen beteiligt. Dabei werden nationales rumänisches Recht, EU-Gesetzgebungen und internationale Gesetze systematisch verletzt.
So setzte Romsilva beispielsweise den Holzeinschlag fort, obwohl der Oberste Gerichtshof in Bukarest die Abholzungsgenehmigungen Anfang 2020 ausgesetzt hatte.

Gegen diese zerstörerische Praxis kämpfen die rumänische Umweltorganisation Agent Green und die Naturschutzstiftung EuroNatur gemeinsam. EuroNatur beabsichtigt „gemeinsam mit anderen Organisationen und engagierten Menschen […] auf die Gefahr für dieses einzigartige Naturerbe aufmerksam [zu] machen und bessere Schutzbestimmungen durch[zu]setzen.“ In dieser Mission schließt sich Eben!Holz e.V. ihrem Projekt „Save Paradise Forests“ an. Im Moment geht es um die finanzielle Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Gerichtsverfahren auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene. Auf diese Weise sollen die bisher verwehrte umfassende Unterschutzstellung erreicht und unrechtmäßige Vergaben von Nutzungskonzessionen nachgewiesen werden. Das soll großflächige Abholzungen und Kahlschlag stoppen.

Einer der jüngsten Erfolge besteht darin, dass die Europäische Kommission ein Vertragsverletzungs-verfahren gegen den rumänischen Staat eingesetzt hat, nachdem EuroNatur, Client Earth und Agent Green Beschwerden über die systematische Zerstörung der Wälder und den illegalen Holzeinschlag in den Natura 2000-Gebieten Rumäniens eingereicht hatten.